Osteopathic Medical Students

Osteopathic Medical Students

Arizona is fortunate to have two schools of Osteopathic Medicine located in the state. The Midwestern University Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine (AZCOM), located in Glendale, and the A. T Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (SOMA), located in Mesa. Combined these schools are educating over 1,600 students.


Membership in the AOMA is complimentary for all osteopathic medical students. Click here to fill out a membership application and join the AOMA. 

Student Governance

Students hold positions on AOMA’s two governing bodies – the Board of Trustees and the House of Delegates.

Board of Trustees

AOMA’s administrative body is the Board of Trustees which is comprised of members who are either representatives of the District Societies, Members-at-Large, Specialist, and New Physician Representatives who hold two-year terms. In addition, student and resident trustee representatives are elected for one-year terms. The Board of Trustees holds four meetings per year.

House of Delegates

The AOMA’s policy making body is the House of Delegates with members annually elected from each district, based upon the number of members in good standing of the AOMA.

The House of Delegates elects Delegates to represent the AOMA at each annual meeting of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) House of Delegates.


We invite all interested students to participate in our standing committees. Please contact Josephine Zammuto, AOMA Executive Director, at jzammuto@azosteo.org to join any of the committees listed below:

Arizona Osteopathic Charities

Student Legislative Affairs

Membership and Credentials

New Physicians

Payor Relations

Political Action Committee

Professional Education

Public Awareness 

Scholarships and Competitions

Financial support is available to Arizona osteopathic medical students through scholarships and competitions, which are underwritten by Arizona Osteopathic Charities:

Scholarship Essay – two scholarships are awarded to osteopathic medical students each year. One scholarship is awarded to a student at Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine (AZCOM) in Glendale and one to a student at the School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (SOMA) in Mesa. Students are invited to write an essay (500 words or less) reflecting on “How do you plan to contribute to the future of osteopathic medicine in Arizona and the United States?” The Charities Board of Directors reads the submissions and selects the winners. Please check with Student Affairs at your designated university.

Clinical Case and Poster Forum – Students are invited to submit entries for the Case Forum (top three entries present their case during the Annual Convention) or abstracts for the poster competition (all poster abstracts are displayed and presented during the Convention). The winner of the case forum and poster forum each receive a $500 award. Details are available at http://azosteo.org/clinical-case.